Ghirardelli Goodness

Week 4. Ok, I lied, you got me. I promised we’d do fried chicken, but when my mom walked in with the Ghirardelli Chocolate Caramel Turtle Brownie Mix in hand, I knew I had to do it. My sweet tooth overcame me and, well, here we are. Not only will I be completing this recipe (and guiding you all along the way), but I will also review the recipe, considering it’s less of a personal skill thing as much as if the mix and steps they provided resulted in something somewhat resembling food.

img_1933

These brownies consist of a few things, that I highly advise preparing beforehand. This recipe can be a quick and simple one that takes very little time, if some preliminaries are completed beforehand!

You will need the following:

  • 1/4 Cup Water
  • 1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Egg
  • Ghirardelli Chocolate Caramel Turtle Brownie Mix

img_1935

That’s all the ingredients. Relatively simple, right? However, as far as equipment goes, I suggest having a pan, at least 8″ x 8″ in size and some way to stir the powder. Of course, make sure you have an oven! From there, it’s pretty simple. Heat your oven up to 325 degrees F. Put some oil on the pan, pour in the brownie mix and caramel sauce and pop it in. Various pan sizes require different cook times, however on average it’s about 38 minutes in the oven.

After ever so patiently waiting for just under 40 minutes, I ran to grab the treat that awaited me. I quickly turned off the oven and pulled them out, and was greeted with a perfectly cooked brownie, with bits of caramel visible just under the surface. I gave it a moment to cool, and dug in. Admittedly, I burnt my finger on the molten caramel in the process- Be careful!

img_1948

And now we enter the review portion. I will rate this just like anything else, with the similar categories of Aesthetics and Flavor, however I will be swapping out the “Price” category for Ease. This will basically say how easy it was to do. By looking at the Ease category, you can also decide, based on your skill level, whether you give the recipe a chance. Here goes nothing!


Aesthetics: 8/10 (The packaging was good, and the end result as well!)

Flavor: 7/10

Ease: 9/10 (Very easy to do- anyone can do it!)

Overall: 8/10


A solid 8 out of 10. Delicious, easy to do and well packaged. They without a doubt perfected the instant-brownie design, as this is a good treat for anyone looking for a quick dessert after a long day. The chocolate is very rich, so much so that you might not even tell it had come from a packaged container. I highly suggest going out and giving this recipe as a go, as it’ll be sure to brighten your day! See you next week! Make sure to leave a comment in regards to what you want to see next week. Do you want to see a review? A recipe? Let me know!

– Jack