Peanut Butter Cookies!

Week 12, and I had a hankering for some peanut butter cookies! It was a pretty spontaneous decision, really. I saw a jar of peanut butter. And I had a small, spark of genius. I quickly rushed on over to grab my handy dandy Better Homes New Cookbook and got to work.

 


 

This recipe is a simple one. I am sure that all of you will have quite an easy time completing it, as long as you persist and follow the instructions very carefully! Here are the ingredients that you will need:

  • 1/2 cup maragine or butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 egg (just kidding, use a whole egg.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1.2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Once you’ve gathered all the essentials, you are nearly halfway there! Also, word of advice: Make sure to double check the measurements that I provided you. Re-read them a few times and make sure you get them exactly correct, as I remember trying this recipe before and, being unskilled at the art of peanut butter cookies, added 1 cup of baking soda. They were, to say the least, disgusting.

With a mixing bowl (such as the one shown above), beat the butter and the peanut butter at a high speed for ~30 seconds. Shortly after, throw in the 1/2 cup of flour, sugar, egg, baking soda, baking powder and your vanilla. Easy.

You’ve got yourself a delicious dough, that I should technically advise you against eating, but then again, I would be lying to say I didn’t sample my cookie dough. So you do you. Take this delicious dough and shape it into 1-inch balls. Place these balls of goodness 2 inches apart from each other on a flat cookie pan. If you want to get some style points, flatten them using the prongs of a fork to get the signature criss-cross shape that I have on mine.

Once you’ve got something resembling what I have above, pop it into the oven. You’re going to want to bake it in the oven at about 375 degrees for 7-9 minutes, or till the bottoms of the cookies are lightly browned. Once you’ve done that, cool the cookies for a bit to let them harden. You’re done!

 


 

You’ve made your cookies. Hopefully, you perfectly nailed the recipe and have come out with something delicious. I personally found that this recipe was one that was fairly easy to follow, and despite small errors on my end, I was able to come out with something that was, without a doubt, a peanut butter cookie. I call that a victory! What did you think of this recipe? Was it helpful and was it instructional? Let me know in the comments! Also, let me know what you want me to do next week, whether it’s another recipe or a review! See you guys next week.

– Jack

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies!

Leave a Reply

